Our Fellowship

The Economic Justice Network is a project of FOCCISA, representing 11 National Christian Councils: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


The explanation below describes the relationship between EJN and the family of Councils of Churches, which fall under the World Council of Churches.

The World Council of Churches is a fellowship of churches encompassing the following bodies:

  • Caribbean Conference of Churches
  • Middle East Council of Churches
  • Christian Conference of Asia
  • Conference of European Churches
  • Latin American Council of Churches
  • All Africa Conference of Churches.

In turn, the All Africa Conference of Churches encompasses the following:

  • Federation of Christian Councils and Churches in the Great lakes and the Horn of Africa (FECCLAHA)
  • Federation of Christian Councils and Churches in West Africa (FECCIWA)
  • Federation of Christian Councils and Churches in Central Africa (FOCCOCA)
  • Federation of Christian Councils in Southern Africa (FOCCISA).

The FOCCISA Executive Committee presides over the Economic Justice Network Steering Committee, which entrusts its work to the Economic Justice Network Director, the Reverend Malcolm Damon.

The executive of FOCCISA is the legal holder who signs contracts or proposals with funding partners and who takes ultimate responsibility for the project.

The Steering Committee of EJN is the implementing agency of FOCCISA which takes responsibility for implementation of the project.

The Chairperson of FOCISSA, Rev Suzanne Matale of the Zambia Council of Churches, is also the chairperson of the Steering Committee of the Economic Justice Network.


More Thoughts

Let us touch the dying, the poor, the lonely and the unwanted according to the graces we have received and let us not be ashamed or slow to do the humble work. - Mother Teresa